This award was established in 2002 and will be presented annually to a new qualified athletic trainer in District VI for their unique or immediate contributions to the SWATA or the athletic training profession.




Past Recipients



2002 Shandra Pruski-Esparza
2003 Scott Galloway
2004 Diana Operhall
2005 Lisa Hamric
2006 Emma Aceto
2007 Britney Webb

2008 TC Shelton

2009 Carissa Spraberry

2010 David Traylor





James E. "Doc" Dodson

At an early age Dodson had an immediate impact on District VI through earnest and fervent service: A perennial friendly face at the annual SWATA meeting, Doc was the long time Executive Secretary and Treasurer of the SWATA Executive Board.


Education: Doc graduated from Fort Worth Poly High School in 1954 and went on to Texas Christian University where he earned a Bachelor of Science Degree in Physical Education in 1958. While at TCU, he worked under the tutelage of SWATA Charter Member, Elmer Brown. Dodson later earned a Master�s of Education Degree from Sul Ross State University in 1967.


Professional Experience: Dodson began his long-time career as the Head Athletic Trainer at Midland High School in 1959, where he remained until his retirement over 30 years later.


Elected Positions:

  • SWATA President, 1965-1966
  • SWATA District Treasurer, 1966-2001
  • SWATA Executive Secretary, 1967-1995


Honors and Awards:

  • SWATA Hall of Fame Charter Member, 1985
  • NATA Hall of Fame Member
  • Athletic Trainer, Texas High School Coaches All-Star Games, 1963, 1968
  • Athletic Trainer, USA Olympic Team, Munich, Germany, 1972
  • Cap Harding Award recipient
  • Eddie Wojecki Award recipient
  • Frank Medina Award recipient
  • NATA 25 Year Award recipient


Other Contributions:

  • Charter Member, NATA Certification Board
  • NATA Representative to the American College of Health Association